About the Pillar Awards

The Medical Mutual Pillar Award for Community Service program recognizes the tie between the nonprofit and for-profit worlds. Its goal is to honor individuals and organizations for their commitment to corporate philanthropy and community services as well as share best practices.

Nominations were judged by a distinguished panel of experts who analyzed and determined the nominees’ commitment to corporate philanthropy. Judges were asked to level the playing field among nominees to equalize opportunities for recognition. In this manner, companies of all sizes were considered.

The judges were then asked to vote for nominees based on their organization’s overall philanthropic efforts including financial, pro bono and volunteer contributions as well as involvement by executives and staff members on the boards of nonprofit organizations.

2010 Pillar Award Judges

Roger Sustar, president, Fredon Corp. (2009 Pillar Award honoree)

David Simpson, CEO, Hospice of the Western Reserve (2009 Pillar Award honoree)

Rich Frank, executive director, Berea Children’s Home & Family Services (2009 Pillar Award honoree)

Michelle Tomallo, executive vice president, FIT Technologies (2009 Pillar Award honoree)

Fred Koury, president and CEO, Smart Business Network Inc.

Rick Chiricosta, chairman, president and CEO, Medical Mutual of Ohio (Pillar Award founding partner)

2010 Pillar Specialty Category Award judges

Lee Beall, president and CEO, Rea & Associates

Thomas D. Anderson, regional wealth executive, FirstMerit Bank

Jenniffer Deckard, chief financial officer, Fairmount Minerals

Robert Weil, RLC manager, CVS/pharmacy