Great companies and great employees working for the good of Greater Cleveland

Medical Mutual, along with our co-founding Pillar Award partner Smart Business, presents the 16th annual Pillar Awards.

This year, we are honoring an outstanding group of companies and organizations of varying sizes.

While this year’s diverse group of honorees may be different in many ways, one thing that they all have in common is their commitment to strengthening the bond between the for-profit and nonprofit worlds.

It occurred to us many years ago that few things are more meaningful and important than investing time and resources in supporting our community, and we felt the need to honor companies and their employees who have gone above and beyond the call. While support and direction come from management, companies are only as great as their employees.

For that reason, we are proud to present the Medical Mutual SHARE Award. This unique award was founded to recognize companies whose employees best exemplify the ideals of Medical Mutual’s own employee SHARE Committee. SHARE stands for serve, help, aid, reach and educate, and is the heart and soul of Medical Mutual’s charitable giving efforts.

The SHARE committee, comprised of Medical Mutual employee volunteers, helps coordinate more than two-dozen community events involving nearly half of the company’s 2,500 employees.

On behalf of Medical Mutual and Smart Business, we congratulate all our 2013 Pillar Award recipients.

Rick Chiricosta
Chairman, president and CEO
Medical Mutual


  • Pillar Award for Community Service – Presented to for-profit businesses for their community service efforts
  • Medical Mutual SHARE Award – Presented to one company annually that best exemplifies employee-driven community service, philanthropy or volunteerism.
  • Nonprofit Board Executive of the Year Award – Honors contributions by for-profit business executives who serve as members of nonprofit boards
  • Nonprofit Executive Director of the Year Award – Recognizes nonprofit executive directors who effectively apply for-profit business principles to their organizations.
  • Fairmount Minerals Sustainable Business Award – Awarded to the organization that best demonstrates sustainable business practices.
  • Kent Clapp CEO Leadership Award – Recognizes the top executive of a for-profit company for creating a culture of giving.
  • Clark-Reliance Youth Philanthropy Award – Presented to the individual or individuals under the age of 22 or who have not yet graduated from college, who best demonstrate the spirit and drive to organize a nonprofit, create an individual initiative that impacts others, or develop a program designed to give back to the community either on an ongoing basis or as a one-off effort.


Kent Clapp CEO Leadership Award, Kevin Goodman, managing director, Blue Bridge Networks

Pillar Award for Community Service

Medical Mutual SHARE Award 

Fairmount Minerals Sustainable Business Practices Award 

Executive Directors of the Year

Nonprofit Board Executives of the Year

Clark-Reliance Youth Philanthropy Award