Movers & Shakers

Advanced Elastomer Systems has appointed Jianya Cheng as advanced engineer and Lisa Kleffman as administrative assistant/tax compliance clerk. AES is a limited partnership between Exxon Corp. and Solutia Inc., headquartered in Akron.

The Rotary Club of Northwest Summit County has elected Bill Bennett as president and Henry King as vice president.

FirstMerit Bank, Akron, has promoted Kathryn L. Helmuth to vice president, commercial loan department.

Lou Ritenour Decorators Inc. of Twinsburg has promoted Michael L. Ritenour to vice president of the firm.

The American Subcontractors Association has selected Mike Ochsenhirt as chairman of the chapter services committee in Washington, D.C. Ochsenhirt is president of Akron Concrete Co. and past president of the local American Subcontractors Association chapter.

Buckingham, Doolittle & Burroughs, Akron, has promoted David Saul Massias as an associate attorney. Massias will practice in the firm’s taxation and employee benefits department.

METRO Regional Transit Authority has appointed Raleigh Clemons as its new human resources director.

The Fred W. Albrecht Grocery Co., the parent company of the Akron-based Acme supermarket chain, has named James Trout vice president of sales and merchandising.

The Fairlawn office of Champaign National Bank and Trust has appointed David C. Vernon, former CEO of Summit Bank, as consultant and director of Champaign Bank’s holding company, Futura Banc Corp.

The Akron Community Foundation has elected the following to its board of trustees: Robert Merzweiler, president; Marc Merklin, vice president; Scott Lyons, secretary; and Douglas Wilson, treasurer.

Artists Inc. of Bath has added Katherine M. Jackson to its staff as account manager.

SS&G Financial Services, Akron, has added Richard K. Warfield as associate director in the tax department.

Fran M. Simmers Marsino has been named the 1998/1999 Akron/Canton Chapter of the American Society of Women Accountant outstanding member of the year. Marsino is treasurer and shareholder of Environmental Design Group.

PASCO of Hudson has appointed John J. Zohoranacky as director, application development and Frank A. Casarona as vice president operations for its affiliate, Customer Management Systems.

Brian Carlone has been named non-ferrous metal manager for Annaco Inc. of Akron.

William R. Holland, chairman of FirstEnergy Corp., has been named chair of the Akron Symphony Orchestra’s Endowment.