The 2011 Pillar Award for Community Service

The Medical Mutual Pillar Award for Community Service, presented by Smart Business, honors businesses of all types and sizes that make outstanding contribution to their community. Its purpose is to encourage a charitable enviroment, recognize creative efforts that make a difference and demonstrate the ties between the for-profit and nonprofit worlds.

This year’s winners were honored at a special banquet on December 7 at LaCentre Conference & Banquet Facility in Westlake, OH. Check out our live blog of the event.

Take a look at how these kind and selfless individuals and companies do what they do:

An introductory letter from Rick Chiricosta, President and CEO, Medical Mutual

Pillar Award for Community Service honorees:

Medical Mutual SHARE Award honoree:

FirstMerit Nonprofit Board Executive of the Year Award honorees:

Rea & Associates Executive Director of the Year Award honorees:

Fairmount Minerals Sustainable Business Practices Award honoree:

Kent Clapp CEO Leadership Award honoree:

For a full list of all the award nominees, please see: The honor roll

The judges who had the unenviable task of picking the winners

A list of our fine sponsors