The Glamorgan Castle is Alliance’s most iconic and widely recognized landmark.
It was commissioned by Col. William Henry Morgan, the president and principal owner of the Morgan Engineering Co., Alliance’s biggest employer around the turn of the 20th century.
Morgan, his wife Annette Sharer and their 18-month-old son, moved into Glamorgan in 1905. In 1939, 11 years after Morgan’s death, Annette was struggling to sell the costly property and let it go for $25,000 to the Elks. The Elks sold it to the Alliance Machine Co., which later sold it to the Alliance City Schools, the owner still today. Along the way, it would withstand a fire, become the center of a national olive poisoning story and survive at least two threats to be destroyed.
Click here or on the image to read the full article in our free digital edition.