Movers & Shakers Featured

9:43am EDT July 22, 2002

Seven local executives have been nominated for the Small Business Administration Columbus District Office’s Small Business Person of the Year award. The nominees are Tom Bell and Mike Haun, co-founders, Bell-Haun Systems Inc.; David Bianconi, president, Progressive Medical Inc.; Barry C. Heagren, president and CEO, Advanced Programming Resources Inc.; Paula A. Inniss, president, Ohio Full Court Press; Robert A. Juniper Jr., president, Three-C Body Shop Inc.; Charles A. Penzone, president and founder, Charles Penzone Inc.; and Gary L. Quick, president and founder, Quick Solutions Inc. The winners will be honored at a May 17 award ceremony, for which SBN magazine has partnered with the SBA. Local winners will be entered in state and national competitions.

Alexander D. “Lex” Crosett III, a veteran of such technology and Internet companies as, Compuserve, Banyan Worldwide and Lotus Development Corp., has joined fourthchannel inc. as president and COO. Crosett will take immediate charge of fourthchannel’s day-to-day operations and will report to Jonathan York, the company’s founder, chairman and CEO. Also joining fourthchannel is William Tanner as CFO. Before joining fourthchannel, Tanner was executive vice president and CFO of SalesSoft.

Barbara K. Brandt, founder of Barbara K. Brandt Inc. Philanthropic Consulting Services, has been named a recipient of a Women of Achievement award from the YWCA. She will receive the award at a ceremony April 6.

Richard Simpson, partner in the law firm Bricker & Eckler LLP, has been appointed the firm’s new managing partner.

“Rich brings 27 years of experience as an integral member of the firm, including management experience as chair of the bond department and, before that, as administrative partner of the firm and a member of our executive committee,” says John Beavers, the firm’s outgoing managing partner. Beavers will lead the firm’s corporate department and Counsel for Boards and Executives, a new Bricker & Eckler initiative that advises CEOs and directors in the area of corporate governance. Also at Bricker & Eckler, Gordon F. Litt, a partner of the firm, has been elected by his peers to the fellowship of the American College of Trust and Estate Counsel.

Tiney M. McComb, chairman and president of Heartland BancCorp, has been elected to a second term as a director of the Cleveland Reserve Bank.

David Wolfe, shareholder at Rea & Associates, has been selected to serve on the Ohio Society of Certified Public Accountants’ International Business Section. Wolfe was appointed as a result of his involvement and interest in the society and international business community. Wolfe, a Rea & Associates team member since 1992, specializes in business and tax planning mergers and acquisitions, business consulting and international business consulting.

Schottenstein, Zox & Dunn has named six of its attorneys to partner positions. The new partners and the offices from which they practice are Robert “Kip” Danzinger, Cleveland; Marcia J. Myers, Cincinnati; and William P. Zox, Bryan K. Prosek, Nancy A. Brigner and Frank W. Carsonie, Columbus.

Robert Wehner has been named COO of Survey Solutions, a company offering clinical consulting services to the long-term care industry.

Curtiss L. Williams, senior vice president of Argus Growth Consultants, has been appointed to a seven-year term on the Development Financing Advisory Council, created by the Ohio Legislature to assist the Department of Development in carrying out its programs for economic development

The National Federation of Independent Business – Ohio has honored Speaker of the House Jo Ann Davidson for her outstanding leadership on issues critical to Ohio’s small business community. In presenting the “Guardian of Small Business” award, NFIB/Ohio state director Roger Geiger praised Davidson as a long-time supporter of NFIB/Ohio and Ohio’s small employer community.

“It was because of Speaker Davidson’s strong leadership that we were able to get several key initiatives passed,” Geiger says. “Simply put, issues like tort reform and workers’ compensation reform would have never passed had it not been for the personal commitment of the speaker.”

The U.S. Chamber of Commerce has presented Sen. George Voinovich with its 1999 “Spirit of Enterprise” Award for his strong support for pro-business policies and legislation in the first session of the 106th Congress.

Connie Woodburn, corporate vice president for professional and government relations at Cardinal Health, has been elected a board trustee of the Osteopathic Heritage Foundation.

Jan Hensel, a shareholder of the law firm Buckingham, Doolittle & Burroughs LLP, was named Attorney of the Year in Ohio Lawyers Weekly magazine. Hensel practices in the employment law group in the Columbus office of the Akron-based firm.