Movers & Shakers Featured

9:37am EDT July 22, 2002

Joseph R. Chylik has been named president of Shaw Video Communications. Chylik is a partner in Oxford Holdings Group Inc., which has acquired Shaw Video Communications. Shaw Video founder Jeffery W. Shaw will serve as senior adviser and coordinate business development efforts for the firm.

Steven M. Kopf, Edwin R. Mickelson, Gregory J. Wieland and James A. Young III have been promoted to principals at NBBJ. Kopf's promotion follows 13 years of experience at NBBJ, including architect for the Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Richard J. Solove Research Institute. Mickelson has worked on the Beijing Hotel Restoration and the Paul Brown Stadium in Cincinnati. Wieland's 23 years of design experience includes the National Taiwan University Children's Hospital, the Istanbul Medical Center and the Rainbow Babies and Children's Hospital Bed Tower addition and renovation, which won the American Institute of Architect's 1999 Design Award. Young, a certified cost consultant, is leader of the project delivery group. He has presented lectures and papers for many organizations, including the American Institute of Architects and the American Association of Cost Engineers.

Richard Neff, owner of Columbus-based George F. Neff and Co., has been elected to the Leadership Council Chapter of the National Federation of Independent Business. The 34-member council is composed of Ohio small business owners whose role is to bring key small business issues to the attention of state and federal legislators, plus provide direction to the organization's advocacy program. George F. Neff and Co. is a plaster and stucco contractor.

Mark B. LaPlace, a tax partner with Groner Boyle & Quillin LLP, has been named chair of The Ohio Society of CPAs' executive board. LaPlace joined the society in 1982 and has held numerous offices, including chair-elect for 1999-2000 and vice president of the executive committee, 1996-1998. He was the 1992-1993 president of the society's Columbus chapter.

Larry Abbott, president of Abbott Foods, has been awarded the Ohio Restaurant Association's Lifetime Restaurant Service Award. The award is given to those who have dedicated their professional lives to serving the Ohio restaurant industry. Abbott took over the family retail locker business in 1970 and transformed it into a major wholesale institutional food distributor. This year, the business will attain sales of more than $200 million.

C. Daniel DeLawder, president and CEO of Park National Corp. and The Park National Bank, has been appointed to the Ohio University board of trustees.

Sandra W. Harbrecht, president of Paul Werth Associates, has been appointed to the Kent State University board of trustees for a term ending May 16, 2009.

The Public Relations Society of America has appointed Douglas A. Frazier, a partner at Clary Communications, to serve on the board of directors for its East-Central District. Frazier, board member and past president of the society's Central Ohio chapter, has been a partner at Clary Communications since 1985.

Kamilla Sigafoos, COO of Ohio State University Hospitals, has been named president of the LifeCare Alliance board of directors. Also elected as officers are John Ennis, director of benefits administration at Battelle, vice president; Maryann Ingram Kelley of White Castle Systems, secretary; and William P. Zox, partner at Schottenstein, Zox & Dunn, treasurer.

Richard A. King, city manager of Upper Arlington, will resign from his position with the city Dec. 1 to assume the position of COO of Bricker & Eckler LLP. King will replace Roger L. Yeley, who is retiring after 18 years as the firm's chief administrator. has hired Andrew H. Johnson as its CFO. Johnson was director of middle market advisory services for PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP in Columbus.

Columbus and Central Ohio's 2000 Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year Award winners have been announced. The categories and winners are commercial service, David Bianconi, president, Progressive Medical Inc.; emerging service, Tara Marling Abraham, president, Accel Inc.; employment service, William Hutter, president and CEO, Allied Employer Resources; manufacturing, Peter Benua, president, Oasis Corp.; real estate development, Anthony Gioffre, president, and John Gioffre, executive vice president and CFO, Gioffre Cos. Inc.; service, James Frauenburg, president, and Michael Lenhart, vice president, Buckeye Check Cashing Inc.; technology, Thomas Divine, chairman and CEO, Divine Tower International Corp.; technology service, John Kratz, president and CEO, Information Control Corp.; Supporter of Entrepreneurship, Sandra Dickinson, executive director, Ohio Foundation of Entrepreneurial Education; and Master Entrepreneur of the Year, James Hopkins, president, J.F. Hopkins & Associates Inc. Local winners are eligible to participate in the national competition; winners will be announced Nov. 11 in Palm Springs, Calif.

Cathy Mayne Lyttle, vice president of corporate communications for Worthington Industries, has received the Bronze Quill Distinguished Communicator Award from The International Association of Business Communicators Columbus chapter.

Executive Jet has appointed Walter M. Ernst as senior vice president of operations. Prior to joining EJM, Ernst was vice president of operations for Jet Solutions LLC in partnership with Bombardier FlexJet and spent more than 20 years with the Federal Aviation Administration. Also, Richard Xifo has joined the company as vice president of operations.

Heartland Bank has promoted Donna Holycross to vice president and director of marketing. Also at Heartland, Randy Kelly has been promoted to vice president and area manager of the bank's Northern Licking County branches.

The Scotts Co. has appointed Bill Burke as its first senior vice president, global research, development and innovation. In addition, Burke will chair the Scotts Scientific Advisory Board, which is being instituted to provide oversight and guidance on technology and new product issues. Burke joins The Scott Co. from Battelle, where he was vice president and general manager.

Anthony Hunter has joined Fifth Third Bank as vice president of Institutional Trust in the investment advisers division.

Gerbig, Snell/Weisheimer & Associates has named Joseph Soto senior vice president. Before joining GSW, Soto was senior vice president and management supervisor at Sudler and Hennessey in New York, where he was responsible for the product management and supervision of various pharmaceutical accounts.

Rick Cherry has joined, a Columbus-based utility-service company, as vice president of technology. Cherry, who formerly led technology development projects at Compuware and was a technical adviser at FedEx, is responsible for leading the development of's proprietary utility connection technology and overall e-commerce strategy.