Movers & Shakers Featured

5:24am EDT July 28, 2003
Columbus-based law firm Chester Willcox & Saxbe LLP formed CWS Governmental Relations Ltd., a wholly owned affiliate that will be led by Denise M. Larr. The firm offers clients expanded consulting and support in public policy, legislative affairs and other governmental relations.

Art Marchi was named vice president of sales at Anderson Concrete. He replaces Darrell Cook, who retired earlier this year. Bruce Higginbotham was promoted to vice president of heavy-highway. He had been manager of the division for more than 10 years.

Law firm Benesch Friedlander Coplan & Arnoff LLP hired Gary Yashko as an associate to the real estate and environmental practice group. Yashko's experience includes commercial real estate, mechanics liens and land use/zoning issues.

New officers for the Ohio Society of Professional Engineers are Scott Sands of Hilliard, president-elect; John Troy of Westerville, president of legislative and government affairs; and Owen March of Columbus, vice president of membership.

Dr. Glenn P. Gravlee, a professor in The Ohio State University College of Medicine and Public Health and former chair of Ohio State's Department of Anesthesiology, was named president of the Society of Cardiovascular Anesthesiologists.

Marketing and public relations firm Dascenzo Creative Inc. received three awards, a BizComm Award for excellence in business-to-business print design, a Bronze Quill Award for business-to-business communication and a PRISM award for excellence in print communication.

Men's Fitness Magazine presented its Fit City Award to the city of Columbus to recognize WBNS-10TV's Commit to Be Fit program. Mayor Michael Coleman received the award during a June 28 Columbus Crew game.

Squire Sanders & Dempsey LLP attorneys have been listed as leaders in their field in the first edition of Chambers USA 2003-2004, a legal directory published by Chambers & Partners. Chambers USA also ranked the firm at the top in the areas of banking and finance, construction, corporate/M&A, employment, environment, litigation and real estate.

The state of Ohio's Business Technology Center (BTC) was named the 2003 Randall M. Whaley Incubator of the Year by the National Business Incubation Association. The BTC is Ohio's first Edison Technology incubator to receive this honor. The award is presented to incubators that exemplify NBIA's principles and practices of excellence.

State Development Director Bruce Johnson appointed Gail Crawley as assistant to the director and Stacie Noel as deputy director of communications and special projects for the Ohio Department of Development. Noel was previously manager of marketing communications of Ashland Inc.

Ernst & Young's 2003 Columbus and Central Ohio Entrepreneur Of The Year award winners are James Lehr Kennedy, Twenty First Century Communications Inc., Business and Wholesale Services; Henry DiYanni, DiYanni Homes, Construction/Real Estate Entrepreneur Of The Year; Harvey Glick, Prospect Bank, Emerging Entrepreneur Of The Year; David R. Scholl, Diagnostic Hybrids Inc., Health Care/Life Sciences Entrepreneur Of The Year; Michael Rosati, Rosati Windows, Manufacturing Entrepreneur Of The Year; Joe Vesco, Information Works, Print Services Entrepreneur Of The Year; Christopher and Martin Doerschlag, WD Partners, Professional Services Entrepreneur Of The Year; Shannon Foust, Damon's Grillm and Chris and Tammy Jones, Iron Pony Motorsports Group Inc., Retail and Consumer Products Entrepreneurs Of The Year; and Mario Desiderio, Infinis Inc., Technology Entrepreneur Of The Year. Winners are eligible for the National Entrepreneur Of The Year awards.