Movers & Shakers Featured

9:56am EDT July 22, 2002

Dave Thomas, founder and senior chairman of the board at Wendy’s International, has been inducted into the Junior Achievement National Business Hall of Fame. Thomas joins more than 180 business leaders who have been inducted since 1975. The inductees were selected through a Forbes magazine and Junior Achievement survey of Forbes 500 CEOs.

Juliet Bullock, Mark Randolph and Mark W. Roby have been named shareholders of the architecture and construction firm NitschkeSamsonDietz. Both Bullock and Randolph have been with the company for more than nine years; Roby has been with the firm for six years.

Bharat B. Nauriyal has been appointed chief economist in the office of investments at Nationwide Insurance Enterprise. He formerly was director of economic analysis.

Cardinal Health Inc. has named Kathy Brittain White executive vice president and chief information officer. White joined Cardinal from Allegiance Corp., which recently merged with Cardinal.

Michael Hurd has been promoted to vice president of CB Richard Ellis. One of the firm’s leading producers, Hurd within the last seven years has closed more than 100 lease and investment sale transactions valued at more than $100 million.

Neal Goldberg has been appointed vice president and director of stores for Victoria’s Secret Beauty, the first branded business of Intimate Beauty Corp., a subsidiary of Intimate Brands. Goldberg joins Victoria’s Secret Beauty from Macy’s NYC Herald Square store, where he was senior vice president and general manager.

Central Ohio Transit Authority General Manager and CEO Ronald L. Barnes has joined the Fifth Third Bank board of directors. Also at Fifth Third, Daniel Flynn has been named assistant vice president in the commercial lending department.

The Public Relations Society of America Central Ohio Chapter has named Paula A. Spence, retired vice chairman of HMS Partners, Citizen of the Year and has presented Corey G. Wiater, an account executive of Paul Werth Associates, with the 1999 Central Ohio Public Relations Society of America’s Rising Star Award. In addition, Wayne Hill, senior vice president of Edward Howard & Co., has been presented with the Tom Poling Practitioner of the Year Award, which recognizes a PRSA member whose accomplishments have made a major contribution to the public relations profession.

Robert Bender, chairman and CEO of Lord, Sullivan & Yoder Inc., has been appointed to the executive committee of the board of trustees for the Columbus College of Art & Design. “As a graduate of the Columbus College of Art and Design, I am very pleased to be in a position to give back to my alma mater and make a difference in the lives and future careers of today’s students,” Bender says.

Tony Gioffre, president and owner of Gioffre Construction Inc., has received the State Conservationist of the Year Award by the League of Ohio Sportsmen. “Tony was selected based not only on the amount of involvement he has with conservationist activities, but also on the personal emphasis he places on conservation education in our state,” says George Lynch, awards committee chair.

David S. Bloomfield, a partner of the Columbus law firm of Bloomfield & Kempf, has been named to Best Lawyers in America, 1999-2000, a referral guide to the legal profession. The list is compiled by lawyers throughout the United States who rate the clinical abilities of other lawyers in their areas of specialization.

Phyllis Van Arsdale, former events manager at Mount Carmel Health System Foundation, has been named director of the meeting and events services department of Gerbig, Snell/Weisheimer & Associates Inc.

The Black Alumni Association of Capital University Law School honored Ohio State University Vice President and Secretary Emeritus Robert Duncan at the 10th annual David D. White Scholarship Reception. This scholarship reception is named after the first black graduate of Capital’s law school, who earned his degree in 1931.

Karlton Williamson of Williamson Builders Inc. in Plain City has been elected president of the Associated General Contractors of Central Ohio. Tim Galvin of Equity Construction in Columbus was elected vice president, Joel Sloan of Turner Construction was elected secretary, J.D. Flaherty of Construction Systems Inc. of Columbus was elected treasurer and Harold Gutknecht of Gutknecht Construction Co. was elected as an ex-officio member of the executive board.