2014 Pillar Awards: Honoring greatness in the name of outstanding community service

Presenter’s Message 

On behalf of everyone at Medical Mutual of Ohio and our Pillar Award co-founding partner, Smart Business, we present these annual awards for community service for the 17th consecutive year.

I personally want to congratulate this year’s recipients for their understanding of “commitment to community.” That is what the Pillar Awards are all about — leading by example and helping to improve the quality of life for Northeast Ohioans.

As we at Medical Mutual celebrate our 80th anniversary, our company has long understood the commitment to improve Cleveland and the communities we serve. We strive to live up to that responsibility in everything we do.

You will notice that one of the Pillar Awards is a special honor given to a company whose employees best exemplify the values of Medical Mutual’s volunteer employee SHARE committee.

SHARE, which stands for serve, help, aid, reach and educate, is the heart and soul of Medical Mutual’s charitable giving effort. Each year, this committee helps coordinate more than two-dozen community events involving nearly half of the company’s 2,300 employees.

“Improving the communities we serve,” is a common theme for all of the Pillar Award recipients over the past 17 years and, once again, Medical Mutual of Ohio is honored to be in such outstanding company.

Rick-Chiricosta-NewRick Chiricosta
Chairman, president and CEO
Medical Mutual of Ohio



Medical Mutual/Smart Business 2014 Pillar Awards

Kent Clapp CEO Leadership Award 
Bill Priemer
Hyland, creator of OnBase

Our Lady of the Wayside Nonprofit Board Executives of the Year Award
Chris Zito
Board member
Our Lady of the Wayside

Charles D. Fowler
Board member
Flying Horse Farms

Nonprofit Director of the Year
Mark Tripodi
Cornerstone of Hope

Nonprofit Director of the Year
Jill Rizika
Executive director
Towards Employment

Medical Mutual SHARE Award
Dan Dunstan
Martin Hilovsky
EnviroScience Inc.

Fairmount Santrol Sustainable Business Practices Award
Alexander Cutler
Chairman and CEO
Eaton Corp.

Community Service Awards
Dominic Mancuso
Vice president and general manager
19 Action News

Gareth Vaughan
The Albert M. Higley Co.

Alexander Cutler
Chairman and CEO
Eaton Corp.

Robert F. Falls
President and CEO
Falls Communications

Christopher M. Kelly
Partner-in-charge, Cleveland Office
Jones Day

Bill Priemer
President and CEO
Hyland Software Inc.

Julie Brandle
Katie Wright
Vice President of Human Resources
Metis Construction Services

Alan Jaffa
Safeguard Properties

John Kahl
ShurTech Brands LLC

Gregory Skoda, CPA
Skoda Minotti

Carmella Calta
SueAnn Naso
Staffing Solutions Enterprises

Rachel Talton
Founder and CEO
Synergy Marketing Strategy & Research Inc.

Youth Philanthropy Award
Willie Swift
University of Mount Union